breaking the seal

Having one unhealthy bite of food breaks the seal for me like that first bathroom break when drinking heavily. I just can’t stop. Yesterday was my work summer party and we had an open bar and food that consisted of chicken fingers, quesadillas, and macaroni and cheese bites. It all looked so tasty, but I made a short term goal on Tuesday and I couldn’t break it the following Thursday! I could have had one drink and a few bites of food, but that would have been over 300 calories, no thanks. I kept strong and sipped on water. I wasn’t in the mood to drink and it was over 100 degrees yesterday. To prepare for the party I had my afternoon snack a little earlier than usual to hold me over, a bagel thin with a tablespoon of peanut butter. I definitely knew I couldn’t go hungry. I also planned a second workout since the party was close to my gym.

After the gym I met up with Jared and our friend Melissa for dinner at the Protein Bar. I had the spinach and pesto bowl with chicken, very tasty! I’m already planning to go back tomorrow for a second breakfast after my workout. I must try the banana walnut bowl (warm organic quinoa, milk, mixed with organic agave nectar, walnuts, and fresh banana).

Besides having an extremely healthy day yesterday I had two successes!

1. I had to order a new bathing suit bottom. I decided I better try on the suit I plan to wear on the boat next week and ended up getting a nice surprise – it looked terrible because it was way too big! Luckily they had it in stock and I ordered a size smaller.

2. I wore my black skinny jeans and didn’t have a muffin top. I bought these jeans about 2 years ago. They were already a little snug, but I think I got caught up in the fact that they didn’t need to be hemmed. I always got a stomach ache wearing them and I’ll admit there was a tiny muffin top going on. Just so you know I NEVER and I mean NEVER let the muffin top show. I always wore them with a long shirt, but I still wasn’t happy that I knew it was under there.

Tonight I’ll be enjoying cheese, wine, and pizza all in moderation.

3 Comments to “breaking the seal”

  1. Jess, you look great!! That’s awesome you’re following through with your diet and exercise regimen and seeing results. I’m loving your blog, btw. I exercise regularly at a gym that I absolutely love, but at the same time I have a less-than-ideal diet, so I can totally relate to your struggles and accomplishments 🙂 Keep it up and I can’t wait to read more!!

  2. Thanks so much Carm! I appreciate the support. Blogging is a good way to vent about diet/exercise struggles, everyone can relate. Hope you’re doing well =)

  3. And PS you don’t even know how excited I was for my very first comment. I started jumping up and down. Luckily, it was a comment from you and not spam. I would have been so disappointed lol.

Leave a Reply

