i heart smores

I started craving smores recently and almost decided to splurge on Ben & Jerry’s smores ice cream (1 serving = 1/2 cup 280 calories, 16g fat, 35g carbs, and 3g protein). Since one serving is only a half cup you know I’d have at least two bringing my total ice cream calorie count to 560 which is almost half of my typical daily calorie count of 1300. Jared then asked me an important question – do I want the ice cream or do I really just want some smores. The answer was definitely the actual smore. I wanted that toasted gooey marshmallow with warm melted chocolate. After shopping for smores ingredients I realized they are a great treat since you can satisfy your sweet tooth without going overboard on calories. Here’s how I make my smores:

Serving Size: 4 smores

Ingredients:

– 4 Kraft Jet-Puffed Stacker Marshmallows
– 2 pieces dark chocolate (recommended: Tiger Bar)
– 2 low fat graham crackers (recommended: Jewel Low Fat Cinnamon Graham Crackers)

Directions:

Preheat the broiler. On a foil-lined baking sheet, place the marshmallows in a single layer; broil until charred. Do not leave the broiler as marshmallows catch fire. Transfer to a plate to cool.

Melt dark chocolate pieces in microwave on high for 30 seconds.

Spread melted chocolate on graham cracker and sandwich the marshmallow between the crackers (1 cracker makes 2 smores).

If you love to cook and have a need to purchase a kitchen torch, making smores is that much easier. You can light the marshmallow on fire to get that extra toasted flavor.

Nutrition Facts:

233 calories
6g fat
43.6g carbs
2.8g protein

Tags:

Leave a Reply

