so much nut butter

Peter Pan Creamy Honey Roast Peanut Butter, I’ve had an unhealthy obsession with the stuff for over 5 years. Remember when it got recalled about 5 years ago for salmonella? I had a half jar left with the number that was recalled. Jared made me throw it out. I definitely put up a fight. I mean I ate half the jar and was fine so why couldn’t I finish it? I thought my life was ending. I went months without the stuff and then one day the creamy regular came back. Ok I’ll give it a try, but my heart belonged to creamy honey roast. For years I ate peanut butter straight from the jar. I finally cut back after I started measuring my food. I know it isn’t the healthiest peanut butter and if I’m not overdoing it then why not keep it in my diet? I’ve recently been reading a lot of healthy living blogs and many of those women eat almond butter, sunflower butter, etc. And of course my nutritionist and Jared insisted on changing to a healthier option. I finally took the plunge and tried Justin’s Honey Almond Butter. I am totally not disappointed. Of course it isn’t creamy, but it has a real honey flavor. I’m still getting used to it, but I’m planning to make a permanent change. I’ll keep my Peter Pan for special occasions. I also love Justin’s Chocolate Hazelnut Butter. It’s like Nutella, but way way better and healthier. I would permanently change to that, but one tablespoon is never enough and then I sit and think about it for an unhealthy amount of time. I’ve realized I can’t eat it unless I allow myself to eat at least 2 tablespoons at a time, which is totally doable if I have a smaller dinner. 2 tablespoons of this stuff is 190 calories so it’s a big chunk out of my allowed 1300 calories/day. If you haven’t tried Justin’s definitely give it a shot. You won’t be disappointed.

2 Comments to “so much nut butter”

  1. I’ve really grown to like almond butter, Justin’s seems a little more expensive than the brand I use (the name of which escapes me at the moment). of course I can only find it at the wegmans.

  2. I totally agree. Justin’s is a little pricey, but that’s the price of being healthy and having something that tastes good. You can get a coupon if you like their Facebook page (http://www.facebook.com/JustinsNutButter). They also come in single serving packets so you can try it without spending a ton. Let me know if you remember the brand though cause I’m willing to give it a try!

Leave a Reply

