wine, cheese, and friends

3 of my most favorite things. Last night I hosted girls night with a cheese plate and wine. I know this isn’t the healthiest option, but I planned for it. I also thought about having bread and olive oil, but decided I didn’t want all of those carbs (sure enough someone else brought it and I helped myself to 3 pieces, oh well). I did four cheese pairings:

1. Cheddar with apple
2. Honey goat with crackers
3. Blue with dried figs (would have preferred fresh fig, but couldn’t find any)
4. Black truffle with the option of honey (doesn’t really need anything extra)

To plan for this meal I only had 3 ounces of ground turkey instead of my usual 4 in my taco salad, a difference of 40 calories. I also had cottage cheese as my afternoon snack. My Breakstone Live Active cottage cheese has 10g of protein and only 90 calories. Lately my afternoon snack has been a bagel thin with peanut butter, a total of 9g of protein and 210 calories. The bagel thin and peanut butter is kind of a splurge snack since I know I shouldn’t have the carbs, but I’m always looking for a reason to eat nut butter. I only eat it when I know that I can definitely be within my 1300 calories/day. So with the cottage cheese I get a low cal snack and tons of protein to hold me over until wine and cheese time!

As you can see I technically only cut back 150 calories, but being able to add that little bit to my fun dinner is super helpful. I know that I have previously tried not to eat a ton before heavy calorie intake, but that doesn’t do me any good. I end up eating even more once it’s in front of me. Using this technique I’m able to enjoy myself and not go overboard. I try not to get too crazy with my splurges Mon-Thur.

Leave a Reply

