Cleansing: Yay or Nay?

So I did my third cleanse last week. I’ve always had mixed feelings about the whole cleansing thing. I’ve heard about celebrities doing cleanses before big events, seen people do a juice cleanse for the new year, and I’ve even seen people do the lemon/honey/cayenne pepper cleanse. I always thought it was so silly, but I try not to judge anymore since I really believe that one can do whatever they want if it works for them.

Let’s rewind to why I did my first cleanse. I was killing it last year with meeting my goals, but I started to get worried after my birthday (Nov. 27) since I knew December was going to be tough with a weekend in NYC to eat, holiday parties, etc. I realized that I only had a span of 3 days where I didn’t have something going on, so I wanted to take advantage of it and be healthy. I wasn’t trying to lose 10 pounds in 3 days. All I wanted was to feel healthy and in control, because we all know how out of control we get during the holidays. I had Jared do some research and we decided to do 90% raw, fish for a good lean source of protein, and avoiding dairy, meat, and processed foods. A typical day is as follows:

6am: Juice (carrot, celery, apple, beet, ginger, kale)
9am: 2 tbsp Justin’s nut butter and celery (nut butter to keep my calorie intake up)
12pm: Juice and small meal (approximately 100 calories of tuna salad)
3pm: 2 tbsp Justin’s nut butter and celery
5pm: Juice
7pm: Dinner (large portion of vegetarian chili)
8pm: Dessert (1/2 brownie from Raw)

Below is a pic of the vegetarian chili (beans, corn, beets, broccoli, cilantro, zucchini, kale)

I knew I wouldn’t be able to stick with only juice since I just love eating way too much, so we picked something that was doable for me. Surprisingly, the juice is extremely filling and I’m able to do a normal workout just fine. I find myself a little hungry on the first day, but after that it’s super easy. The hardest part is telling people why you won’t go out for dinner or have that free cookie at work. Ok I lied, it’s also hard to give up my daily desserts (sugar free pudding, single piece of dark chocolate), so Jared was nice enough to check out Raw, a raw foods place in the market near us. I’ve had their tiramisu, brownie, and lemon bar. You’d be surprised how tasty they are. I’m going to recreate the lemon bar sometime soon.

So there you have it. I say yay to the cleanse! I did a 3 day cleanse in December, 5 day cleanse in January, and another 5 day cleanse last week. I find that it’s helpful every few months just to get me back on track.

Leave a Reply

